Twisted Bargello Quilt in green and blue

I haven’t posted most part of my work because my posting schedule is lagging seriously behind my working, sewing and quilting schedule… But now, there’s a reason to post:

Spring Blogger's Quilt Festival - AmysCreativeSide.com
Anyway, this is the blue and green twisted bargello quilt I made for my brother.
He moved out to university and got his first flat of his own, and of course he needed a quilt. He also inspired the name for the quilt when we were practicing English for his studies: Synthetic Raisins”!
Basically, this name was coined on a pronunciation error, he wanted to have the German translation of “synthetic resins” (Kunstharze) as he’s studying engineering, but he pronounced it like raisins… 🙂 I was dumbstruck and just asked “What raisins? Why do you want to make synthetic raisins if it’s so easy to make natural ones…???!!!” – I virtually expected the unexpceted impossible  from a student of chemical engineering… LOL
There are twenty different fabrics in different shades of blue and green involved, the pattern is taken from the book Twist-and-Turn Bargello Quilts by Eileen Wright. I sorted and re-sorted the order of the fabric about twenty times and took a photo of every order, but the final decision was an accidental one… sometimes random turns out better… 🙂 
The pattern in the book is easy to understand and to follow, and ironing the fabric precisely does the trick. I adapted the pattern and made two twists instead of one, that was easy, too, because Eileen’s patterns are absolute in precision and instruction.
This is the quilt on my bed, spread in all its beauty:

Here you can see the full double twist: 
And that’s the back, made of scraps from the bargello strip sets and baby blue solid fabric: 
I quilted the bargello twists with straight lines following the different colours and sewing through the squares diagonally. It turned out great and emphasizes the twisted structure even more. 
Sorry for the quality of the photos, I don’t have a clothesline, so taking photos that show the entire quilt is a bit tricky… 😦
I’m linking this post up to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival at Amy’s Creative Side, here’s the link back to her blog. 
Happy sewing,
8 thoughts on “Twisted Bargello Quilt in green and blue

Leave a Reply

