I Spy Boys Quilts

I’m just realizing that I haven’t posted the quilts I made for my sons, I basically finished telling with my visit to the customs office in order to pick up the fabric I had ordered… well, that’s a long time ago…
So, here we go:
I had some pattern in mind that was similar to the “All Framed Up” Baby quilt by Melissa Correy, because I really love the design, but, as usually, I didn’t use a pattern and ended up with something different.
But, the two quilts with my sons’ names appliquéd onto some of the blocks turned out nice and are well loved. That’s more important than sticking to any pattern…

So, I worked out a pattern consisting of a charm and two halved charm pieces with a 1.5″ sashing strip (1″ after sewing) inbetween and tried to arrange the pieces alternatingly, so that there would be a pattern of parallel lines, but not  so obvious. After a bit of struggeling with the layout, the block sizes and the assembly of the quilt top (pattern designer  struggle for you!!) a lovely boy’s quilt turned out.

Next problem: the quilt back. I had ordered RJR fabrics on sale to make two different quilt backs, but unfortunately one fabric was out of stock and I only got half the quantity ordered, the other fabric was shipped in the quantity ordered but was in three pieces… annoying, but what do you expect for 3$ per yard designer fabric. So, I decided to piece the backs together from 10.5″ squares (10″ finished) as Bonnie Hunter offers in her back tutorials. That really comes handy because it’s so easy to calculate.
So, here’s the quilt back (before ironing):

 It turned out really nice, quilted without any problems with the seams on the back in a straight line grid following the white sashings. Fast and easy, here’s a quilting detail.
For binding I used a striped Very Hungry Caterpillar fabric, because I love striped bindings and my sons love The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

So… **drumrolls** here’s the finished quilt front and back, hanging over my ironing board:

 Finished, washed and dried it was immediately loved… 🙂

 Thanks for bearing with me.

Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

