First finish in 2012

My first finished project in 2012 is a HST colour spectrum quilt named “Over the Rainbow” which I had promised my brother for Christmas but hadn’t managed to finish before the holidays.

“Over the Rainbow”

I have promised myself to never again make such a quilt:
– 105″ x 105″
– 1369 HST in 37 x 37 grid
– block size 2.5″ x 2.5″
– 30 colour groups
– 182 different fabrics + white + baby blue back

backside and detail
work in progress

Sincerely, I must have been stark-staring-mad when I planned that project, in my HST chain-sewing madness I even forgot to consider borders! ^^
Due to miscalculation I planned to make 40 x 40 rows (1600 HST!), but then saw that 37 HST blocks resulted in 105″ already.
So, the next step of my HST madness is already teasing me: I’ve got 3 rows with 37 HST blocks each left, waiting to be assembled to another colour spectrum quilt – this time with borders (even if it means some use of my seam ripper)!
I don’t seem to have any other chance, considering the HST blocks I have left: beautifully sorted into zip-lock bags they are waiting to be pieced into “Over the rainbow II” – singing their siren song in my ears…

even more HST 🙂

***************************************

Mein erstes fertiges Projekt 2012 ist ein Quilt aus HST (Half Square Triangles) ĂĽber das gesamte Farbspektrum mit dem Titel “Over the Rainbow”, den ich  meinem Bruder zu Weihnachten versprochen, aber vor den Feiertagen nicht mehr fertig bekommen hatte.
Ich habe mir selbst das Versprechen abgenommen, nie wieder so einen Quilt zu machen:
– 105″ x 105″ / 260 cm x 260 cm
– 1369 HST in einem 37 x 37 Raster
– Blockgröße 2,5″ x 2,5″ (ca. 6,5 cm)
– 30 Farbgruppen
– 182 verschiedene Stoffe + weiĂź + RĂĽckseite in hellblau

Ehrlich gesagt muss ich vollkommen verrückt gewesen sein, als ich diesen Quilt geplant habe, und in meinem Ketten-näh-HST-Wahnsinn habe ich glatt vergessen, einen Rand einzuplanen! ^^
Verrechnet habe ich mich auch noch, als ich ein Raster von 40 x 40 HST Blöcken (also 1600 Blöcke!) geplant habe, dann aber bei 37 Reihen festgestellt habe, dass ich eh schon 260 cm erreicht habe.
Und schon zwickt mich der nächste HST-Wahnsinn: Ich habe drei Reihen zu je 37 HST Blöcken ĂĽbrig, die darauf warten, eine neue Quiltoberseite zu werden – aber dieses Mal mit Randstreifen (auch wenn ich einiges auftrennen muss)!
Ich muss wohl vor mir selber kapitulieren in Anbetracht der HST Blöcke, die ich noch ĂĽbrig habe: feinsäuberlich in Zipper-Beutel einsortiert warten sie darauf, zu “Over the Rainbow II” zusammengesetzt zu werden – irgendwie juckt es ja schon in meinen Fingern …

Happy sewing,

Leave a Reply

